Dr Sven Lange

Counsel | Rechtsanwalt

Dr Sven Lange primarily acts in investment arbitration disputes in which he represents investors as well as States. Furthermore, he is frequently involved in post-M&A proceedings and other corporate disputes.

Sven Lange has experience with numerous arbitration rules, including, for example, the ICC, ICSID, DIS, SCC and UNCITRAL rules as well as the rules of the Romanian Chamber of Commerce. He generally acts as a party representative, but also takes on the role of arbitrator or secretary to the arbitral tribunal. He represents clients from, in particular, the shipbuilding, infrastructure and defence sectors.

A particular focus of Sven Lange’s work is on international investment protection. Sven Lange possesses comprehensive expertise in relation to bilateral investment treaty and Energy Charter Treaty disputes. In this regard, he has represented clients from the shipbuilding sector in multiple parallel proceedings against a State based inter alia on violations of a bilateral investment treaty. In addition, Sven Lange is regularly involved in post-M&A cases and other corporate disputes including conflicts between partners to a joint venture.

Sven Lange lectures on investment protection law at the University of Mainz and is a Regional Coordinator for the DIS40 in Frankfurt. He was listed in the 2019 edition of “Who’s Who Legal: Arbitration – Future Leaders”. In addition to German and English, Sven Lange speaks French and Swedish.

Dr. Sven Lange

Counsel | Rechtsanwalt

Dr. Sven Lange ist primär in internationalen Investitionsschiedsverfahren tätig, in denen er sowohl Investoren als auch Staaten vertritt. Darüber hinaus ist er häufig mit gesellschaftsrechtlichen Streitigkeiten und Post-M&A-Verfahren befasst.

Dr. Sven Lange hat Erfahrung mit zahlreichen Schiedsordnungen, wie zum Beispiel den Regeln von ICC, ICSID, DIS, SCC, UNCITRAL und der Romanian Chamber of Commerce. Er ist zumeist als Parteivertreter tätig, nimmt aber auch die Rolle des Secretary to the Arbitral Tribunal ein. Er vertritt insbesondere Mandanten aus den Sektoren Schiffsbau, Infrastruktur und Verteidigung.

Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt von Dr. Lange liegt dabei im internationalen Investitionsschutzrecht. Insbesondere verfügt Dr. Lange über umfassende Expertise bei Auseinandersetzungen auf der Grundlage von bilateralen Investitionsschutzabkommen sowie in Energy-Charter-Treaty-Streitigkeiten. So betreut er beispielsweise für Mandanten im Schiffsbausektor mehrere Parallelverfahren gegen einen Staat, unter anderem wegen Verletzung eines bilateralen Investitionsschutzabkommens. Sven Lange ist zudem regelmäßig in gesellschaftsrechtlichen Streitigkeiten, Post-M&A-Streitigkeiten und Auseinandersetzungen zwischen Joint-Venture-Partnern tätig.

Dr. Lange ist Lehrbeauftragter für Investitionsschutzrecht an der Universität Mainz und Regionalkoordinator der DIS40 in Frankfurt. Er wurde von Who’s Who Legal als Future Leader 2019 im Bereich Arbitration genannt. Neben Deutsch und Englisch spricht Dr. Lange auch Schwedisch und Französisch.